Nominations Open for 2019 Global Pluralism Award

Deadline: April 30, 2018

Nominations are open for the 2019 Global Pluralism Award by Global Centre for Pluralism in order to recognize individuals and organizations championing respect for diversity and inclusion around the world.

The Global Pluralism Award celebrates achievement and excellence in the field of pluralism. The Award is presented once every two years to individuals, organizations, governments and businesses of any nationality. Through their remarkable and sustained achievements, awardees contribute to building more inclusive societies in which human diversity is protected.


Award Aims

  • Raise the international profile of pluralism, defined as a principle of respect for diversity,
  • Identify and disseminate innovative and successful approaches to pluralism globally, and
  • Recognize and raise the profile of exemplary organizations, individuals or other entities seeking to advance pluralism.


Award Information

  • Three Award winners will be selected by an independent, international Jury chaired by the Rt. Hon. Joe Clark, former Prime Minister of Canada.
  • Each recipient will receive $50,000 CAD to further their work.
  • Additional in-kind assistance may be provided, including engagements in each recipient’s country to raise the profile of their achievements.
  • The Award will be presented in 2019 at the international headquarters of the Global Centre for Pluralism in Ottawa, Canada.


Eligibility Criteria

  • A wide range of disciplines: Nominees must demonstrate remarkable and sustained achievement in any of the wide range of disciplines related to pluralism. These disciplines include:
    • legal reform
    • human rights
    • democracy promotion,
    • social cohesion
    • education
    • ethnic relations
    • conflict resolution
    • peacebuilding
    • migration and integration


  • International Nominees: Eligible nominees from all countries are eligible, including:
    • individuals (e.g. artists, journalists, academics, policy-makers, filmmakers, etc.);
    • civil society organizations (e.g. professional associations, faith-based organizations, labour unions, non-profit research or educational institutions, local community groups, non-governmental organizations, foundations, think tanks, etc.);
    • social enterprises;
    • corporations;
    • educational, research and policy institutions (public or private);
    • local/municipal, regional or federal/national branches of governments, etc.


How to Apply

Nominations and applications for the Award can be made via given website.

For more information, please visit Global Pluralism Award.

Post Author: Opportunity Point

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *